Saturday’s schedule at Wiscasset Speedway was jam-packed with exciting racing action as the track hosted their 2022 Group #2 season finale and the tenth annual Amsoil Dominator Strictly Shootout.

The Strictly Shootout, founded by Dave Brannon, is the biggest Strictly Street race of the season at Wiscasset Speedway. The winner’s purse is traditionally $500, but it was doubled to $1,000 this year. Numerous contingency prizes (leader at halfway, hard charger, worst draw, heat race bonuses, etc.) and lap money ($10 for each lap led) also gave competitors the opportunity to double their prize money. The race attracted some of the best drivers across New England including Oxford regulars Jordan Russell, Kyle Hewins. Richard Spaulding and more. 

Jimmy Childs (winner), Kyle Willete (champ) & Travis Poulliot in VL!

The racing action kicked off with a 25-lap feature from the Kennebec Equipment Rental Outlaw Minis. Travis Poulliot took off with the early lead, but multi-time champion Jimmy Childs was quickly navigating through the field, breaking the top 3 by lap 3. Childs continued his pursuit to the front in the coming laps, clearing Jason Kimball for the runner-up spot on lap 7. Point leader Kyle Willette was following in his footsteps, breaking the top 3 on lap 12. A mid-race caution on lap 13 brought the field back together and Jimmy Childs took off from there, clearing Travis Poulliot for the top spot as Kyle Willette followed in succession. Jimmy Childs held strong, closing out the 2022 points season with another win in the Outlaw Minis. Kyle Willette followed, clinching his first career championship in the division. Willette is also the first driver not named Jimmy Childs or Zach Audet to win the Outlaw Mini championship since 2016. Travis Poulliot rounded out the top 3.

The Amsoil Dominator Strictly Shootout followed with out-of-car driver introductions and an exciting top twelve redraw. Although Mac Hannan, Jr. was the initial pole sitter of the race following qualifying, he drew third in the redraw while Calab Emerson-Mains drew pole. Brian Caswell elected to take the “Back to the Front” challenge, sacrificing his top starting spot for the opportunity to pick up a $500 bonus if he were to win the race.

Keith Drost and Calab Emerson-Mains went head-to-head for the early lead in the 50-lap feature, but two early cautions stalled the racing action and led to damage to many heavy hitters’ cars including Kurt Hewins, Kyle Hewins, Travis Lovejoy, Richard Spaulding and more. Keith Drost pulled ahead on the restart as Mac Hannan, Jr. and Josh St. Clair filled in behind him, resulting in a 3-car breakaway by lap 15. Josh St. Clair pedaled down on lap 25, clearing Hannan, Jr. for the runner-up spot before challenging Keith Drost for the lead.

Keith Drost, all smiles after his Strictly Shootout win!

A mid-race caution on lap 26 brought the field together once more. Keith Drost held strong, pulling away on the restart. The lead pack began approaching lap traffic with ten laps to go, eventually reaching them on lap 45. Josh St. Clair made a bold move with just one lap to go, taking Keiith Drost and a lap car 3-wide as he challenged for the top spot. Keith Drost maintained his edge as Josh St. Clair lost momentum in the last turn, sailing into his first career (and second career Strictly Street win ever) Strictly Shootout win. Mac Hannan, Jr, Josh St. Clair, Kurt Hewins and Jordan Russell rounded out the top five. Between lap money, heat race winnings, race earnings and other contingency prizes, Drost took home a total of $1730 in overall winnings. 

Adam Chadbourne cheesin’ after scoring the win/championship!

Adam Chadbourne dominated the 30-lap 88.5FM Modified feature as he led the charge early, pulling away from red-hot competitor Ryan Ripley after an early-race caution. Chadbourne and Ripley distanced themselves from the competition quickly, resulting in a 2-car breakaway at the front of the field. Chadbourne further distanced himself from Ryan Ripley in the closing laps of the feature, securing his fifth win of the season in addition to another division championship. Scott Trask followed, rounding out the top 3. 

Josh St. Clair is again a multi-time champion in 2022!

The Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Models rounded out the night with a final 40-lap feature race. Jonathon Emerson took off with the early lead in the feature but collided with Scottie Hall on lap 10, resulting in Emerson taking a spin in turn 3. A handful of cautions followed and resulted in damage to numerous race cars, including those of Josh St. Clair, Jett Decker, Dave Farrington, Jr. and Mark Lucas. A false start led to the front 2 rows being swapped for the restart. This put Frank Moulton into the lead, but Will Collins was on the move, clearing DC Alexander for the runner-up spot on lap 18. Collins quickly moved onto Frank Moulton, overtaking the top spot on lap 20. Will Collins took off from there, closing out the 2022 season with his fourth consecutive win in the division and second in points to Josh St. Clair, who finished back in eighth. St. Clair is once again a multi-time champion in 2022, taking home the championship title in the Late Models and the Street Stocks.

You can celebrate Josh St. Clair and all of Wiscasset Speedway’s 2022 champions this Saturday, October 8th at Fall Fury. The annual season-ending event features all weekly divisions in addition to the T&L Automotive Roadrunners and the Wicked Good Vintage Hobby class, who will be sending off the 2022 season with non-points 15-30 lap (20-30 minute timed) races. As always, grandstand admission is just $5 for adults and free for kids 6 and under. Grandstands open at 11:00 am and the green flag flies at 12:00 noon.

Please continue to support your local short tracks and help them thrive for years to come!

See you next time!

Please consider donating to Chasing the Checkered as the website and Chasing the Checkered community are not monetized! All money donated will go directly back into the website and will cover monthly website expenses, promotional materials, traveling/gas costs and more. Thank you for your support!