This week, the competition continued to heat up at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway with another night of Super Saturday racing action. The program featured all Thunder and NASCAR Nite divisions, with the Pro Series capping off the night with a 40-lap main event.

The Pro Series competition kicked off with two 10-lap qualifying heats. Alan Tardiff powered to the early lead over Rusty Poland in the first heat. Gary Smith was also on the move early, advancing to third over Dalton Gagnon on lap 3. Tardiff held strong to the finish, capturing the heat victory as Rusty Poland and Gary Smith rounded out the top 3.

Corey Bubar took off with the early lead in the second and final qualifying heat as Joe Pastore powered into the runner-up spot over Barry Poulin. Drivers were 3-wide for third on lap 7, with Brandon Barker taking over the spot.

Another 3-wide battle for position ensued on lap 9, this time for fourth. Wyatt Alexander came out on top, securing the position as he pulled away from his competitors. Bubar was off and away in the closing laps, taking home the heat victory as Joe Pastore and Brandon Barker rounded out the top 3.

After the initial start was called off by race control, Alan Tardiff took off with the early lead in the 40-lap feature. Rusty Poland and Corey Bubar duked it out for the runner-up spot in the opening laps of the race until Bubar pulled ahead with the advantage on lap 3.

Gary Smith and Joe Pastore ignited a battle for position on lap 8, going door to door for fourth. Pastore pulled away with the spot, leaving Gary Smith fighting Brandon Barker for a spot in the top five.

Corey Bubar was all over Alan Tardiff for the top spot on lap 20, eventually making his way to Tardiff’s door the following lap. As the leaders battled it out in the closing laps, another battle was heating up for fourth as Joe Pastore and Brandon Barker went nose to nose for position all while Wyatt Alexander was riding their coattails, ready to strike.

Alan Tardiff held off Corey Bubar to the finish line, capturing his first win at the speedway in over 8 years. Tardiff had previously taken a break from the track and competed weekly at Oxford Plains Speedway before returning to the track full-time this season.

Corey Bubar, Rusty Poland, Brandon Barker and Joe Pastore rounded out the top five.

The Pro Series continues to be competitive week-in and out. In the past four weeks, there have been 4 different winners in the division. The only repeat winner in the division this season has been Dave Oliver.

Who will be the next driver to stand atop the podium in the Pro Series? Will Rusty Poland or Gary Smith shake things up and break the mold? Stay tuned to find out!

The Super Saturday racing action continues on this Saturday, July 3rd. The racing action kicks off at 4:00 pm.

Continue chasing the checkered and support your local short tracks! I hope to see you soon!

Cover photo credit goes to the awesome Jamie Williams at Finish Line Photography!