Wiscasset Speedway hosted their Group #1 divisions this past Saturday, including the competitive Thunder 4 Mini division. 13 drivers showed up to compete in the 25-lap main event on Saturday, looking to knock the reigning winner, David Cook, off of the podium.

Drivers went 3-wide for the early lead in the first Thunder 4 Mini heat, with Adreonna Dodge holding the early advantage over her competitors. Jeff Farrington was also on the move early, advancing into the runner-up spot over Ches Williams on lap 4. He made his way to Dodge’s door the following lap, eventually taking over the lead on lap 6.

Ches Williams powered into the runner-up spot over Adreonna Dodge on lap 7 as Jeff Davis followed in succession. The #53 machine went up in smoke on lap 8, but the field remained green. Jeff Farrington held off his competitors, scoring the heat victory. Jeff Davis and Ches Williams rounded out the top 3.

There was another 3-wide battle for the early lead in the second and final qualifying heat before Doug Degroat pulled ahead with the edge over the competition. Shane Webber was at his door on lap 3, hungry for the top spot. Webber gave Degroat a love tap on lap 7 in turn 1, which resulted in Webber nearly losing it through the following turn. Webber miraculously held onto it as the field remained green.

Michael Golding joined the battle for the podium on the final lap of the heat, advancing into the runner-up spot over Shane Webber as Doug Degroat secured the heat victory.

Jeff Farrington took off with the early lead in the 25 lap feature. Paul Hopkins faced troubles early, retiring to the pits on lap 3.

Ches Williams and Michael Golding went head to head for third on lap 4, with Golding taking over the spot the following lap. Reigning winner, David Cook, took a spin on lap 12 in turn 4, but the field remained green as he was able to keep rolling. Adreonna Dodge came to a slow on lap 13 in turn 4, resulting in the first caution of the feature.

Michael Golding was all over Jeff Farrington for the lead on the restart. After a solid showing all day, Ches Williams took a spin on lap 19 in turn 4. The field remained green as Williams lost a handful of spots.

Jeff Farrington and Michael Golding were nose to nose for the lead with just 3 laps to go. The two drivers remained side by side until the conclusion of the feature, where Farrington pulled ahead with the slight edge exiting the final turn on the final lap of the feature. Farrington sailed across the finish line, becoming the second first-time winner of the night. Michael Golding, Jeff Davis, Doug Degroat and Shane Webber rounded out the top five.

The Thunder 4 Mini’s put on one Heck of a show on Saturday night and it’ll be fun seeing who else is able to break the mold and top the podium in the division in 2021.

Catch Group #2 and the Coastal 200 next Sunday, May 30th, at Wiscasset Speedway. Pit admittance is only $20 for all ages and grandstand admission is only $5.

Continue chasing the checkered and support your local short tracks. I hope to see you soon!