The Pro All Star Series Modified division had an exciting Oxford 250 race weekend with two feature races over the course of the 3-day race weekend. Justin Larsen scored the victory on Friday night while 25 drivers battled it out for the checkered flag on Sunday, the day of the coveted Oxford 250.


Modified star, Andy Shaw, was an addition to the field on Sunday in the #0 machine and a newcomer in the field was Beech Ridge Motor Speedway Pro Series driver, Nick Cusack, who was piloting the #61 on Sunday.


Mark Lucas took home the first heat victory, with Mark Napolitano and Mike Carignan scoring victories in the second and third heat races. Spencer Morse made an impressive run in the third heat, going from the rear of the field to second by the conclusion of the heat.


Once the field was set, Mark Napolitano took off with the early lead in the 40-lap feature. Drivers were 4-wide for position on lap 3, with Spencer Vaughn falling to the rear of the field. Matty Sanborn was on the move early, breaking the top 3 on lap five as Kate Re filed into the fourth spot behind him. Wayne Whitten took a spin on the frontstretch on lap 8, leading to an early-race caution.


Matty Sanborn was hungry for the lead following the restart, all over Mark Napolitano for the top spot on lap 12. The two drivers hooked on lap 13 in turn 4,  making contact as Colby Benjamin akso made hard contact with the turn 4 wall. The incident led to yet another caution.


Nick Cusack and Adam Gray made hard contact on lap 14 and the #50 of Tyler Stygles also took a spin. Mark Lucas had a flat tire go down on lap 20 and collected Kate Re, which was an incident that led to another caution. 


Lap 25 was a wild lap as Spencer Vaughn took a spin on the frontstretch and Andy Shaw and Wayne Allard made contact in turn 1, sending Jairet Harrison into the lead. Shaw was racing hard with the leaders but was scored a lap down due to not taking the initial green flag. Spencer Morse was back in the mix by lap 30, breaking the top 3 after fighting and clawing his way through the field. 


Bill Dixon had a tough day, retiring to the pits on lap 33. Randy Sanborn and Ryan Nelson went off-track in turn 4 of the final lap, but Jairet Harrison drove away with the victory, holding off his competitors. Tyler King, Spencer Morse, Adam Gray and Justin Larsen rounded out the top five.


The victory was Harrison’s second of the 2019 season and Spencer Morse continues to dominate the point standings, holding a steady 40-point lead over Mike Carignan with just 4 races remaining in the 2019 PASS Modified season. Spencer also gave his trophy to a young fan following the race and you can watch the sweet video here.


The PASS Modified division continues to grow in numbers and excitement as the 2019 season rolls on. You can catch the PASS Mods next on Sunday, September 15th at Oxford Plains Speedway


See you there!


Thank you to my website sponsors, Texas Roadhouse Scarborough, Four Season Synthetic and Drown Excavation. Your support is much appreciated!