Photo Credit: Pro All Star Series

The Pro All Star Series Modified season rolled on this past season at the newly improved Hudson Speedway in Hudson, New Hampshire. The track has made many improvements over the course of the off-season, including a newly paved pit area and the build-up of walls around the entire track. The chances of winding up in the pond behind the backstretch or the trees in turns 3 and 4 are now slim to none.


13 different Modified teams showed up to play on Sunday, with the number growing from last Sunday’s Season Opener at Oxford. 


The racing action began with two 12-lap heats for the PASS Mods. Kate Re pulled away with the early lead in the first heat as Jairet Harrison quickly made his way into the runner-up spot. Kristina Nadeau took a spin on lap 3 in turn 2, bringing out the first caution of the day.


There was a top 3 breakaway by the halfway mark, with Kate Re still leading the way. Harrison gave Re a run for her money on the final lap, but she was able to hold him off for the heat victory. 


Mike Carignan powered into the early lead over Bill Dixon in the second heat. The #00 of Geoff Rollins later took a spin on lap 4 in turn 4, leading to the first caution of the heat.


Spencer Morse was on the charge after the restart, powering to the inside of Bill Dixon and taking over the runner-up spot. Morse was all over the #21 of Carignan by lap 9, hungry for the lead. He made his way to Carignan’s outside on the final lap of the heat, but took a spin coming into turn 3, which cost him his position and landed him on the muddy infield grass.


Carignan took home the heat victory, followed by Bill Dixon and Matty Sanborn.


After the Pro All Star Series Modified field was set, some of Hudson’s weekly divisions took to the track for their feature races. Tim Wenzel came home victorious in the 30-lap Mini Stock feature, Jimmy Renfrew, Jr. captured the victory in the Street Stock feature and Chris Howard won the 10-lap Six Shooters shootout.


With a slight drizzle falling from the sky above, the PASS Modified drivers returned to the track for their 40-lap feature. In attempt to dry up the track some and leave the drivers with a warm track surface, multiple warm-up laps were performed before the field took the green.


The inside lane got bunched up on the initial start, leaving both Spencer Morse and Henry Siligano spinning. This brought out an early-race caution, which was followed by another brief caution for debris found on the backstretch before the field went green.


Spencer Vaughan had trouble on the restart and he was shuffled to the outside line, falling to the back of the pack. Meanwhile, Jairet Harrison was on the move, making his way to the inside of Kate Re on lap 6 and taking over the top spot. Patrick Sullivan, Bill Dixon and Mike Carignan made their way around her on lap 8, sending Re back to fifth place.


The #27 of Siligano took a spin on the back straightaway on lap 9, leading to another caution. This was followed by Spencer Vaughan taking a hard lick on the restart, slamming into the turn 1 wall. The incident led to an extended caution, but thankfully Vaughan was able to climb out of the #7 under his own power.


Mike Carignan, Spencer Morse and Gary Shackford got bunched up on the back stretch on the restart, with the 3 drivers falling back through the field. Patrick Sullivan then took a spin on lap 16 in turn 3, miraculously avoiding contact with any of his competitors. The incident led to another caution.


Bill Dixon was all over Jairet Harrison for the lead on the restart, but Harrison was able to pull away. Spencer Morse was on the rebound once again after the restart, breaking the top 5 and later climbing his way into the fourth spot on lap 23. He continued his red-hot pursuit to the front, clearing Kate Re for third on lap 29.


After a strong performance all day, Bill Dixon faced mechanical troubles on lap 32 and safely drove his #33 machine into the infield. 


Jairet Harrison was gone and away, extended his lead to nearly a full straightaway over Spencer Morse on lap 35. He succeeded in taking home the victory, capturing his first career PASS Modified feature win.


Spencer Morse was a bridesmaid yet again, bringing the #34 machine home in the runner-up spot. Kate Re, Gary Shackford and Geoff Rollins rounded out the top five.


For the second week in a row, fans and competitors were able to see yet another first time winner in PASS Modified Victory Lane. As the series continues to grow and become more competitive, each and every week of competition brings more excitement and more surprises. It’ll be interesting seeing how it all plays out over the course of the 2019 season!


The PASS Modified division has the week off this week, but they will return to the track next Sunday, May 19th, at Speedway 51. The racing action begins at 1:00 PM. You will also be able to catch the Pro All Star Series SLM division this coming Saturday at Star Speedway. The racing action begins at 4:30 PM. We hope to see you there!


As always, thank you to my website sponsors, Texas Roadhouse Scarborough, Four Season Synthetic and Drown Excavation. None of this would be possible without the support of any of you!